Concert Reviews
Concert Reviews
On The Side
Contact Us
About Us

Release Date:
September 2, 2012

Reviewed by:
Harvey Cline

Guitarist Matt Marshak captures us once again with a wonderful array of new music that will make his old fans happy while turning on the newer ones. His style continues to be some what smooth in his delivery while the sound is clean and very forth right.

He hits the ground running with a fun number called “Cadillac Kid.” This one slides along a good pace sort of like the car of the same name. You can feel the shiny chrome and all the accessories as this one comes to an end. I like what Matt does here on guitar and the riffs here are infectious. It is a good one to start out on. “Mr. Dupree” is a little more laid back in its delivery and allows Matt to stretch it out a little bit before coming back to the chorus once again. Mario Cruz adds some nice sax background to the piece. “Harmony” is light and lively and has a really good feel to it and is a real contrast to the opening of “Everything To Me.”  This one allows us to hear Matt really well as he is shown off extensively through out. I like what he does with “Morning Meditation” and the laid back approach he takes to this one. One of the favorites has to be “Down In Delaware” with saxophonist Marcus Anderson. The two bring their live magic into the studio for one that I think you will enjoy. While they play note to note through a lot of it, they both have their moments to shine on their own as well. This is one you get to hear at the end as he offers an extended version.

“Soul Reason” brings a lot to the table with the repeated five note progression that becomes the theme. There’s variation off it a through out as he takes it out to a nice ending. One of my favorites has to be “Jeans and a T-Shirt.” This one just makes you feel good as the vibe is so positive through the whole piece. Matt’s guitar here is really up lifting. “Cookin’ In The Kitchen” has a real raw, club feel to it. It’s a lot of fun and you can tell right away where the title comes from. He finishes up with an extended version of “Down In Delaware” that is good to hear again.

If you’ve seen this artist on the road, you know what fun he brings to his shows and he does the same thing here on his seventh release. Be sure to check it out soon and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed in the “colors” he brings to you in sound.